3 Reasons Why I Still Watch The Academy Awards

Asia Monét
2 min readApr 27, 2021

--

I’m kidding its just two, sort of, well, two and a half

Photo by Paolo Chiabrando on Unsplash
  1. I want to be in the entertainment industry.
  2. I need to make a film about stuttering.
  3. I want me and everyone else in the community to be represented.

While the 2021 Oscars did not give me inspiration, awards season has done so in the past. It has pushed me so far as to wanting to be an actress, which sounds ridiculous coming out of my mouth. More importantly, I want to tell my story. I want to tell our story.

I know I don’t need the glitz and the glam. That’s not what I want. I want Oscar level because it deserves that level of attention. How Nomandland gave attention to Nomads and how Sound of Metal gave attention to the Deaf Community. These are the stories that have been itching to get the attention they deserve, and it’s wonderful that they received it. But I know that there are so many more groups in line and we are one of them.

I’m no Casey Neistat or the daughter of some Matt Damon figure, but they say passion and the tenacity to persevere will get you where you want to be, right?

Well, tell the Academy I’m on my way.

--

--

Asia Monét

A 20-something who stutters and trying to figure out how to deal with it on top of adulting shenanigans and discovery